• This forum is currently in Read-Only mode and will not accept new threads, posts or responses.

To Sign Up for the New Forum, click here: https://www.cco.us/cco-forum/

Going to take the CPC Exam

Krystal

hello,

I was wondering if anyone would be able to give me a little advice. I am due to take the CPC Exam on Sat August 10th and I'm scared as heck. This is my first time taking the test and I just need a little advice as far as what I should really focus on. I have highlighted all my books, purchased and taken the practice exams and studied my butt off. Is there anyone who has taken this test and passed it on their first time around?

Thanks,

Dymondk4u

Carolyn Heath

Blitzer
CCO Club Member
CCO Practicoder
Focus on the guidelines. Do the easy questions first, then the medium questions, and save the hard questions for last. I passed on my second time around, but I focused on the guidelines and used my ICD-9 book more than the CPT and HCPCS. Here is a link on reading the operative report: http://www.justcoding.com/print/279024/learn-how-to-read-an-op-report?goback=%2Egmp_5097942. This is an excellent report and I personally know the lady who presented it. She gave a presentation on reading an operative report at our AAPC chapter meeting in February 2011 and I never forgot it.

Krystal

Carolyn,

Thank you! I needed that. My biggest worry are the surgery/OP reports. There is a lot to read within one report and its hard for me to pick out what is needed and whats not needed. As far as Guidelines are concerned...should I review the CPT book more or the ICD-9 book? I have been highlighting the heck out of both books...As far as my practice tests are concerned: I do start from the back....I think that will be my method of starting the exam as well. Thank you so much again for the op-report...I NEEDED THAT!

Krystal

Ruth Sheets

CCO Moderator
Staff member
Administrator
Blitzer
PBC Student (CPC®)
CCO Club Member
CCO Support Staff
MTA Student
ICD-10-CM Student